Elaine J. Stromgren

Of Counsel


Elaine has co-counseled with Wilbanks and Gouinlock on several successful cases over the last ten years, and she joined the firm in an Of Counsel role on September 3, 2019.  Elaine is a veteran False Claims Act lawyer who has represented whistleblowers for almost two decades.  She resides in Florida and represents clients across the United States. Prior to joining Wilbanks and Gouinlock, Elaine led the False Claims Act whistleblower practice at the James Hoyer Law Firm.

Elaine has handled cases involving the Department of Health and Human Services, the Department of Defense, the Department of Education, and other government agencies.  Elaine’s extensive science background means she brings special expertise to analyzing healthcare fraud cases.  Adding to that expertise, Elaine is currently working to obtain a medical coding certification.

In 2012, Elaine represented a whistleblower in the $137.5 million settlement against WellCare Health Plans. She was also one of the attorneys from James Hoyer who received the Whistleblower Lawyers of the Year Award in 2015 for the major off-label Lidoderm marketing case against Endo Pharmaceuticals, that successfully concluded with a $192.7 million settlement.

Elaine played a major role in the $65 million recovery in 2018 against Prime Healthcare.  Elaine’s client in the Prime Healthcare case, Karin Berntsen, received the Whistleblower of the Year award in October of 2018 from Taxpayers Against Fraud, the non-profit organization devoted to supporting False Claims Act recoveries.

Elaine graduated with high honors from the University of Florida College of Law in 2000. Prior to law school, she completed her undergraduate work at the University of Florida, where she received a B.S. in Biology with high honors in 1996.

Elaine is a member of the Florida Bar and is admitted to practice in the United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida.

Additional Information

Bar Admissions:
United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida

University of Florida College of Law, High Honors, 2000
University of Florida, High Honors, 1996